The Truth About Her

Author: Jacqueline Maley
Homepage 9781460759165

Stock information

General Fields

  • : $32.99(AUD)
  • : 9781460759165
  • : HarperCollins Publishers Australia
  • : 4th Estate - AU
  • :
  • : 0.445
  • : January 2021
  • : 2.8 Centimeters X 15.7 Centimeters X 23.6 Centimeters
  • :
  • : 32.99
  • :
  • :
  • :
  • : books

Special Fields

  • :
  • :
  • : Jacqueline Maley
  • :
  • : Paperback
  • : 2104
  • :
  • : English
  • : 823.4
  • :
  • :
  • : 368
  • :
  • :
  • :
  • :
  • :
Barcode 9781460759165
9781460759165

Description

How can you write other people's stories, when you won't admit the truth of your own? An absorbing, moving, ruefully tender, witty and wise novel of marriage, motherhood and the paths we navigate through both, for fans of Ann Patchett and Anne Tyler. Journalist and single mother Suzy Hamilton gets a phone call one summer morning, and finds out that the subject of one of her investigative exposes, 25-year-old wellness blogger Tracey Doran, has killed herself overnight. Suzy is horrified by this news but copes in the only way she knows how - through work, mothering, and carrying on with her ill-advised, tandem affairs.The consequences of her actions catch up with Suzy over the course of a sticky Sydney summer. She starts receiving anonymous vindictive letters and is pursued by Tracey's mother wanting her, as a kind of rough justice, to tell Tracey's story, but this time, the right way. A tender, absorbing, intelligent and moving exploration of guilt, shame, female anger, and, in particular, mothering, with all its trouble and treasure, The Truth About Her is mostly though a story about the nature of stories - who owns them, who gets to tell them, and why we need them. An entirely striking, stylish and contemporary novel, from a talented new writer.  

Promotion info

 


 

Awards

 


 

Reviews

MACLEAN'S REVIEW:


Jacqueline Maley's debut novel is a beautifully written story about a journalist whose life begins to fall apart after a series of questionable decisions. 


It's a very slow burn, not an action-packed page-turner. But I enjoyed getting inside the head of a complex female character. 


- Jane