The Flames

Author(s): Sophie Haydock

General Fiction

A stunning debut novel about the intertwining lives of four remarkable women, the muses who inspired the artist Egon Schiele. For fans of THE PARIS WIFE, THE FAMILIARS, The MINIATURIST and The DUTCH HOUSE.Every painting tells a story, but what if the women on the canvas could talk...ADELE- passionate, fierce, obstinate. The daughter of a bourgeois family in 1900s Vienna, she rails against the strictures of her class and longs for freedom.GERTRUDE- spirited, single-minded, possessive. The sister to budding artist Egon Schiele, she longs for an exciting life away from their tempestuous family home. VALLY- determined, independent, proud. A model for celebrated artist Gustav Klimt, she has carved her way out of poverty and is now forging a brave new path for herself.EDITH- quiet, conventional, loyal. Or is she? Younger sister to Adele, Edith is overlooked and wonders if there is another version of the woman she might become. Four flames, four wild, blazing hearts, longing to be known. All four will become muses to the charismatic but controversial artist Egon Schiele. In an elegant bohemian city like Vienna, everything seems possible - until an act of betrayal changes everything. For just as a flame has the power to mesmerize, it can also destroy everything in its path . . .

$32.99(AUD)

Available Stock:
0
On Order:
5

Order this Item


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9780857527639
  • : Transworld Publishers Limited
  • : Transworld Publishers Limited
  • : March 2022
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 464
  • : Paperback
  • : Sophie Haydock