Winter Trees

Author(s): Sylvia Plath


Both published posthumously in 1971, Crossing the Water and Winter Trees contain the poems written along with those that went to form Ariel, from the exceptionally creative period that led up to Sylvia Plath's suicide in 1963. Between them they evoke a sense of place and history, mythology both personal and familial and rooted deeply in the natural world. Alongside the poems in Winter Trees is published Plath's radio play Three Women. In these new incarnations the two extraordinary volumes find their place alongside The Colossus and Ariel in the oeuvre of a singular talent.


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

First published posthumously in 1971, Winter Trees is now reissued, along with Crossing the Water, with a Faber typographical cover.

Sylvia Plath (1932-1963) was born in Boston, Massachusetts, and studied at Smith College. In 1955 she went to Cambridge University on a Fulbright scholarship, where she met and later married Ted Hughes. She published one collection of poems in her lifetime, The Colossus (1960), and a novel, The Bell Jar (1963). Her Collected Poems, which contains her poetry written from 1956 until her death, was published in 1981 and was awarded the Pulitzer Prize for poetry.

General Fields

  • : 9780571330102
  • : Faber & Faber
  • : Faber & Faber
  • : 0.09
  • : September 2017
  • : 198mm X 129mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : November 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 64
  • : 811.54
  • : English
  • : Main
  • : Paperback
  • : Sylvia Plath